Advising

Advising for the GRID program is carried out by the WGGP Assistant Director. The WGGP office monitors the GRID admission process and fulfillment of GRID minor requirements while the student's departmental academic advisor continues to advise and monitor for the satisfaction of their department's requirements. GRID Representatives from sponsoring units (listed below) inform interested students in their departments about the GRID Minor and sign the GRID admission form when their students wish to enroll. Special arrangements can be made for students in departments not currently participating.

Department Representative Location / Address Phone Number Email
Center for African Studies Maimouna Barro 210 International Studies Bldg. (217) 333-6335 barro@illinois.edu
Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies Yuchia Chang 230 International Studies Bldg. (217) 244-4601 yuchia@illinois.edu 
Center for South Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Angela Williams 222 International Studies Bldg. (217) 244-5939 aswillms@illinois.edu
Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies Kasia Szremski 206 International Studies Bldg. (217) 333-8419 szremski@illinois.edu
College of Law Rebecca Ray 202 Law (217) 300-5639 rdray@illinios.edu
Department of African American Studies Erik McDuffie 1201 W. Nevada (217) 333-7781 emcduffi@illinois.edu
Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics Mary Arends-Kuenning 408 Mumford (217) 333-0753 marends@illinois.edu
Department of Anthropology Mahir Saul 109 Davenport (217) 244-3502 m-saul@illinois.edu
Department of Curriculum and Instruction Margery Osborne 386 Education (217) 244-1271 m-osbor@illinios.edu
Department of Economics Hadi Esfahani (Professor) 210 David Kinley Hall (217) 333-2681 esfahani@illinois.edu
Department of Educational Policy Studies Pradeep Dhillon 377 Education (217) 333-5236 dhillon@illinois.edu
Department of Educational Psychology Dorothy Espelage 220A Education (217) 333-9139 espelage@illinois.edu
Department of Geography Thomas Bassett 220 Davenport (217) 244-3200 bassett@illinois.edu
Department of History Terri Barnes 309 Gregory Hall   tbarnes2@illinois.edu
Department of Human and Community Development Ramona Oswald 263 Bevier (217) 333-2547 roswald@illinois.edu
Department of Human Resource Education Rose Mary Cordova-Wentling 348 Education (217) 333-4466 mcwent@illinois.edu
Department of Philosophy Colleen Murphy   (217) 244-0675 colleenm@illinois.edu
Department of Political Science Merle Bowen

1. 361 Lincoln

2. 210 International Studies Bldg.

1. (217) 333-3881

2. (217) 333-6335

bowen@illinois.edu
Department of Psychology Gary Wszalek 10 Psychology Building (217) 333-6478 wszalek@illinois.edu
Department of Sociology Antoinette Burton 326 Lincoln (217) 333-1950 aburton@illinois.edu
Department of Urban and Regional Planning Faranak Miraftab 111 Temple Buell (217) 333-3890 faranak@illinois.edu
European Union Center Carla Santos 328 International Studies Bldg. (217) 265-7515 csantos@illinois.edu
Gender and Women’s Studies Jacque Kahn 911 S. Sixth (217) 333-2990 jskahn@illinois.edu
Institute of Communications Research Angharad Valdivia 228 Gregory (217) 244-1422 valdivia@illinois.edu
Latina/Latino Studies Program Alicia Rodriguez 510 East Chalmers (217) 244-9732 aprodrig@illinois.edu
Program in Arms Control, Disarmament, and International Security Cliff Singer 111D Talbot Laboratory (217) 333-1814 csinger@illinois.edu
Russian East European and Eurasian Center Carol Leff 361 Lincoln (217) 244-2270 leffc@illinois.edu
School of Architecture Kathryn Anthony 117 Buell (217) 244-5520 kanthony@illinois.edu
School of Labor and Employment Relations Elizabeth Barker Room 149B LER (217) 333-2381 ebarker@illinois.edu
School of Social Work Min Zhan 1207 W. Oregon (217) 244-5252 mzhan@illinois.edu
Women and Gender in Global Perspectives Program Colleen Murphy 347 Armory (217) 333-1994 colleenm@illinois.edu