Advising

Advising for the GRID program is carried out by the WGGP Assistant Director. The WGGP office monitors the GRID admission process and fulfillment of GRID minor requirements while the student's departmental academic advisor continues to advise and monitor for the satisfaction of their department's requirements. GRID Representatives from sponsoring units (listed below) inform interested students in their departments about the GRID Minor and sign the GRID admission form when their students wish to enroll. Special arrangements can be made for students in departments not currently participating.

  • Center for African Studies, Maimouna Barro, 210 International Studies Bldg., 333-6335, barro@illinois.edu
  • Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies, Yuchia Chang, 230 International Studies Bldg., 244-4601, yuchia@illinois.edu 
  • Center for South Asian and Middle Eastern Studies, Angela Williams, 222 International Studies Bldg., 244-5939, aswillms@illinois.edu
  • Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Kasia Szremski, 206 International Studies Bldg., 333-8419, szremski@illinois.edu
  • College of Law, Rebecca Ray, 202 Law, 300-5639, rdray@illinios.edu
  • Department of African American Studies, Erik McDuffie, 1201 W. Nevada, 333-7781, emcduffi@illinois.edu
  • Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics, Mary Arends-Kuenning, 408 Mumford, 333-0753, marends@illinois.edu
  • Department of Anthropology, Mahir Saul, 109 Davenport, 244-3502, m-saul@illinois.edu
  • Department of Curriculum and Instruction, Margery Osborne, 386 Education, 244-1271, m-osbor@illinios.edu
  • Department of Economics, Hadi Esfahani, Professor, 210 David Kinley Hall, 333-2681, esfahani@illinois.edu
  • Department of Educational Policy Studies, Pradeep Dhillon, 377 Education, 333-5236, dhillon@illinois.edu
  • Department of Educational Psychology, Dorothy Espelage, 220A Education, 333-9139, espelage@illinois.edu
  • Department of Geography, Thomas Bassett, 220 Davenport, 244-3200, bassett@illinois.edu
  • Department of History, Terri Barnes, 309 Gregory Hall, tbarnes2@illinois.edu
  • Department of Human and Community Development, Ramona Oswald, 263 Bevier, 333-2547, roswald@illinois.edu
  • Department of Human Resource Education, Rose Mary Cordova-Wentling, 348 Education, 333-4466, mcwent@illinois.edu
  • Department of Philosophy, Colleen Murphy, 244-0675, colleenm@illinois.edu
  • Department of Political Science, Merle Bowen, 361 Lincoln, 333-3881, or 210 International Studies Bldg., 333-6335, bowen@illinois.edu
  • Department of Psychology, Gary Wszalek, 10 Psychology Building, 333-6478, wszalek@illinois.edu
  • Department of Sociology, Antoinette Burton, 326 Lincoln, 333-1950, aburton@illinois.edu
  • Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Faranak Miraftab, 111 Temple Buell, 333-3890, faranak@illinois.edu
  • European Union Center, Carla Santos, 328 International Studies Bldg., 265-7515, csantos@illinois.edu
  • Gender and Women’s Studies, Jacque Kahn, 911 S. Sixth, 333-2990, jskahn@illinois.edu
  • Institute of Communications Research, Angharad Valdivia, 228 Gregory, 244-1422, valdivia@illinois.edu
  • Latina/Latino Studies Program, Alicia Rodriguez, 510 East Chalmers, 244-9732, aprodrig@illinois.edu
  • Program in Arms Control, Disarmament, and International Security, Cliff Singer, 111D Talbot Laboratory, 333-1814, csinger@illinois.edu
  • Russian,East European and Eurasian Center, Carol Leff, 361 Lincoln, 244-2270, leffc@illinois.edu
  • School of Architecture, Kathryn Anthony, 117 Buell, 244-5520, kanthony@illinois.edu
  • School of Labor and Employment Relations, Elizabeth Barker, Room 149B LER, 333-2381, ebarker@illinois.edu
  • School of Social Work, Min Zhan, 1207 W. Oregon, 244-5252, mzhan@illinois.edu
  • Women and Gender in Global Perspectives Program, Colleen Murphy, 347 Armory, 333-1994, colleenm@illinois.edu